My infallible plan to become a better person: Rule #4

chocolate-ganache-1172839-m

When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile.

In case you are new to my blog, my completely waterproof New Year’s resolution for self-improvement is explained here. But in short: I want to become a better person – healthier, fitter, smarter, more cultured and more ethical – while carefully guarding my beloved laziness.

To make sure I keep it chill, I set some ground rules for myself:
1. No stress.
2. Have fun.
3. Spend as little extra time as possible on it.
4. Keep it positive.

You were proabably expecting some optimistic feelgood motivational speech when you clicked to read this post. But fear not, because you’re at the home of the lazy theory. And the whole point of this exercise is I won’t do anything that needs any extra motivation.

This last rule I have deduced from a simple principle: it is easier to do an extra effort (especially a small one, as explained in Rule #3) than to avoid doing something you want to do. That’s why it’s feasible to stick to doing ten push-ups every day but it’s very hard to quit smoking for instance.

Why? Because doing ten push-ups requires an effort of about twenty seconds, once a day. Even I can manage that. Not doing anything you want to do, however, requires you to keep up your effort all day every day. That’s what makes it so hard to stick to a diet. Staying strong for twenty three hours and fifty minutes is a tremendous achievement, but in those remaining ten minutes of weakness you can devour a whole lot of calories (as I prove daily).

So here’s the plan: only positive strategies. For example:

No more chocolate! -> Iiik! Nom nom nom.Eat more vegetables! -> 🙂

No more soda drinks! -> Awoo.
Drink more water! -> Sure thing. 🙂

No more wasting any food, ever! -> Yeah right.
Do something interesting with left-overs. -> Nom!

You get the picture. The hope is that one will lead to the other, only with less effort. If you drink a lot of water, you will be less thirsty, and therefore will probably drink less soda. If you eat more vegetables, that ‘s less room for chocolate.

 

 

2 thoughts on “My infallible plan to become a better person: Rule #4

    • Actually I did too, a couple of years ago, I was just giving an example. I quit drinking soda while travelling South America. It just wasn’t available in the more rural areas. After I came back, I noticed I didn’t miss it at all, and it seemed stupid to go back to drinking it. Chocolate on the other hand, that is a different story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

