Idea: babysit duos

little-ducks-1442265-5-m

If a duck can manage this, so can you.

A complaint I hear an awful lot from friends with children, is they have no time for hobbies, culture or sports, because of their family, or because they cannot afford a babysitter that often.

I think those are just lame excuses. I agree it is a very bad idea to drag your children along to your French or yoga classes, and jogging with a pram does look a bit awkward. And I totally agree getting a babysitter every week does get a bit expensive. But if you really want to do something, there’s always a creative solution possible.

So I’m thinking: Say you want to practice yoga on Mondays, then maybe you might have a friend who would like to go spinning on Tuesdays. Why not team up? You go to your yoga class on Monday, while your friend babysits your kids, and you watch the whole bunch on Tuesdays.

Little thought on the side: Find friends that don’t have horrible kids. And make clear, businesslike commitments.

I don’t understand why nobody I know does this. But since I don’t have children (yet), maybe I just don’t get it. If you have any experience with this, either positive of negative, I would love to hear from you.

5 thoughts on “Idea: babysit duos

  1. I have a two year old and I have found more than anything else that time management is the key. I know when he sleeps so I make sure I game plan for what I need to have done in that time frame. I can’t say I’m always great at this, but I certainly do try. I’m also blessed to have both sets of grandparents in the area. They help me out once a week and allow my wife and I to grab a date day now and again. It really helps.

    • Having the grandparents around must be a huge blessing, I can imagine! I suppose you can do a lot while your kid is sleeping, but that doesn’t include leaving the house… I was raised by a single mum, and she didn’t have many options. That’s kinda what I was thinking of while writing this post. Thank you for your comment! If you have any other tips on that time management, please share, I could use a little help on that part. πŸ™‚

      • I try to do things while he’s eating – like the dishes or other little things I can do while he’s in eye shot. If he starts to play by himself (which he is pretty good about) I might fold some clothes or hop online for a minute or two. I also try to get up as early as I can. I’m best in the mornings and he is pretty good about sleeping. That is where I do the most work with my writing or blogging.

Leave a Reply

