My infallible plan to become a better person: Rule #3

metro-2-954130-m

Life is stressy enough without a dozen ambitious plans.

In case you are new to my blog, my completely waterproof New Year’s resolution for self-improvement is explained here. But in short: I want to become a better person – healthier, fitter, smarter, more cultured and more ethical – while carefully guarding my beloved laziness.

To make sure I keep it chill, I set some ground rules for myself:
1. No stress.
2. Have fun.
3. Spend as little extra time as possible on it.
4. Keep it positive.

Rule #3, spend as little extra time on this self-improvement plan as possible, is not so much driven by laziness (fine, maybe a little), as it is by common sense. Why do most resolutions fail? Because they’re unrealistic. Most of us have got jobs, families, friends, hobbies, and a certain need of sleep. Those take time too. So, and this may come to a surprise to the very optimistic among us, if you have all or even some of the above, you don’t have three hours to spend randomly every day. So unless you are lucky enough to do it professionally, who ever stuck with a brilliant plan like playing the piano for at least one hour every day, or working out every day?

Maybe I shouldn’t speak for everyone, but I have not (tried about a trillion times though).

That principle especially plays a role if the plan is not only to become fitter OR learn to play the piano, but to become fitter AND healthier AND more cultured AND live better… If you plan an hour every day on every goal, I’d give this plan about a day and a half. Maybe two in the holidays.

I think little improvements can make a huge difference over time. Especially when you can make a structural change. And they are easier to stick to. I will share some practical examples shortly.

 

One thought on “My infallible plan to become a better person: Rule #3

  1. Pingback: My infallible plan to become a better person: Rule #4 | almostwritten

Leave a Reply

