I will never be late again (thanks to a simple trick)

traffic-jam-5981-m

This is what 2014 looked like. Always late.

Resolutions vs. reality: 0-1.

Sigh.

One of my good intentions was not always showing up late everywhere I go. In fact, I was planning from now on to always be on time. Always. Today is the first day of 2015 I had to work. I showed up fifteen minutes late.

Not that anybody really cares, as long as the job is done, and it is done well. But still. For me, it feels like failure. The problem is not that I don’t care enough. Trust me, I do care. I hate it. Every single time I’m late, I beat myself up over it. So why is it so hard to fix it?

Here are a few reasons why I have been late recently:
– Unforeseen circumstances, like a traffic jam (usually the “unforeseen” part is arguable).
– I forgot I had to do something, like stop by a store or pack something and take it with me, until the last minute.
– Got distracted and lost track of time.
– Got too focused on something and lost track of time.
– Grossly underestimated how long it would take to do something.
– Absolutely had to do or finish something before leaving and didn’t make it on time.

So the problem is complex. Or maybe it ‘s not: I’m an idiot. I’m terrible at estimating how long things are going to take, I fail to plan ahead and keep forgetting or losing stuff. But I will fix this, if it’s the last thing I do. I will have to start by analyzing what is going wrong exactly and why. And then figure out how to fix that.

That’s probably going to take some time though. So to make sure I start being punctual right now, I came up with a quick fix. Wherever I need to go, I’m going to go there one hour early. Since I always fail to keep to the time I intended, that should mean I will arrive about half an hour early. That time I will use to do something constructive. Like studying my Russian course (exam coming up!) or pursuing every interest I might have at the time.

This should make me a better person in not one, not two, but three ways!
– Arrive on time.
– Learn Russian (or other stuff) very regularly.
– I’ll be far more relaxed.

aleja-745374-m

This is what 2015 is going to look like. Gorgeous and relaxed and all happy things. (I found this beautiful picture on FreeImages.com)

 

Leave a Reply

