Post-holiday chaos

This is kinda what happens when I have too many ideas and not enough time to actually write.
Picture: Photobucket

When I say post-holiday chaos, I don’t (only) mean the mess of wrinkled sundresses and damp washcloths I tend to pull out of my suitcase. I’m not even referring to the giant amount of mail and e-mail I have to plow through. It’s the chaotic rubble of ideas that traveling usually leaves in my mind I want to talk about.

You often hear how traveling clears the mind. It does that for me too, in a way. After a couple of weeks on the road, I’m always more convinced than ever that writing is what I want to do in my life. I even feel like taking some risks in order to make it. It feels like every day on the road my energy is piling up, and so are my ideas.

And that’s the problem. I have written hardly anything for three weeks now. I just enjoyed my travels and let my thoughts run free. And so I got a lot of new ideas, and I’m excited about each and every one of them. Well, probably a lot of these new ideas will seem stupid in a couple of weeks, when I’m able to look at them more clearly. But for now, I’m excited about all of them. And that seems to smother my productivity. I just don’t know where to begin.

After a short period of not writing, for whatever reason, I always have some trouble getting in to it again. But now it seems like there are so many things I want to write and tell, I seem to get nothing done at all.

The sensible thing to do now is probably to write all new ideas down for later, get refocused and continue where I left off before my holiday. But how? I wonder whether other writers share this feeling at times? All tales and tips are very welcome!

Leave a Reply

